

January 1988

Progamme for Promoting Nuclear Non-Proliferation: Composition of the Core Group

Citation:

"Progamme for Promoting Nuclear Non-Proliferation: Composition of the Core Group", January 1988, Wilson Center Digital Archive, Contributed by Michal Onderco from the private papers of Benjamin Sanders.

https://digitalarchive.wilsoncenter.org/document/260411

Summary:

List of names of the core group of the PPNN.

Credits:

This document was made possible with support from Carnegie Corporation of New York (CCNY)

Original Language:

English

Contents:

Original Scan

January 1988

R. X. X. May

PROGRAMME FOR PROMOTING NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION

Composition of the Core Group

- Benson Agu, Nigeria; nuclear physicist, former IAEA staffmember (safequards)
- Jayantha Dhanapala, Sri Lanka; Director, United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research, Geneva; former member for Sri Lanka of the Conference on Disarmament, committee chairman at 1985 NPT Review Conference
- Warren Donnelly, USA; Senior Specialist, Congressional Research Service, US Library of Congress
- Lewis Dunn, USA; senior consultant Science Applications International Corporation, former Assistant Director ACDA, US representative to 1985 NPT Review Conference
- David Fischer, UK; consultant on non-proliferation, former Assistant Director General for External Relations, IAEA
- Jozef Goldblat, Sweden; Senior Researcher, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
- Oleg Grinevsky, USSR; Ambassador, Head of delegation, Conference on Confidence- and Security-Building Measures in Europe
- Jorge Morelli Pando, Peru, Ambassador to Ecuador, former Resident Representative of Peru to the IAEA
- Harald Mueller, Germany, Federal Republic; Senior Research Fellow and head, research programme on non-proliferation in Europe, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt
- Joseph Nye, USA; Director, Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University
- Walter Rehak, German Democratic Republic; head, nuclear material control, waste management and transport of radioactive material, former IAEA staffmember (safeguards)
- Ben Sanders, Netherlands; former staff member IAEA (safeguards) and United Nations (Disarmament), Secretary-General, 1985 NPT Review Conference, PPNN coordinator and Core Group chairman
- Mohamed Ibrahim Shaker, Egypt; Ambassador, former staff member IAEA, former Resident Representative of Egypt to IAEA, President of 1985 NPT Review Conference and UNCPICPUNE

Composition of PPNN Core Group (continued)

- John Simpson, UK; Deputy Director, Centre for International Policy Studies, University of Southampton, Co-Director of PPNN and rapporteur of the Core Group
- Ian Smart, UK; consultant on energy matters, former British diplomat dealing with non-proliferation issues, former Assistant Director IISS and Director of Studies at Royal Institute of International Affairs

Consultations are proceeding about the participation of **Ryukichi Imai**, Japan; Ambassador to Mexico, former representative of Japan in the Conference on Disarmament, committee chairman at 1985 NPT Review Conference