Skip to content

April 9, 1989

Mount Etjo Declaration, Namibia

This document was made possible with support from Leon Levy Foundation

Mount Etjo Declaration


The Joint Commission created by the Protocol of Brazzaville of 13 December 1988, met at Mount Etjo, Namibia, on 8 to 9 April 1989 in an extraordinary session.


Delegations of the Peoples’ Republic of Angola, the Republic of Cuba and the Republic of South Africa, parties to the New York accord of 22 December 1988, attended this meeting.


Delegations from the United States of America and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics participated in their capacity as observers.


The parties reaffirm their commitment to fulfill the obligations undertaken in the accord of 22 December 1988 for the peaceful resolution of the conflict in the southwestern region of Africa and in conformity with United Nations Security Council Resolution 632 of 16 February 1989.


In order to facilitate the restoration of peace and to promote the full application of Resolution 435/78, the Security Council of the United Nations and the subsequent agreements subscribed to by the parties, as well as the restoration of the situation in existence on 31 March 1989, and taking into account in this regard the declaration by the leadership of SWAPO on 8 April 1989, the parties agree to a package of recommendations which are reflected in the attached annexure.


The parties urge the Secretary General of the United Nations to urgently adopt all the necessary measures for the most rapid and complete deployment of UNTAG so that it can fully and effectively carry out its mandate. They likewise urge all member states of the United Nations, particularly those who are members of the Security Council, to extend to the Secretary General their full cooperation with the carrying out of UNTAG’s tasks.




Declaration reaffirming the parties' (those of Angola, Cuba, and South Africa) commitment to a peaceful resolution in Southwest Africa. Also urges the most rapid deployment of the (United Nations Transition Assistance Group (UNTAG) possible.


Document Information


Included in "Southern Africa in the Cold War, Post-1974," edited by Sue Onslow and Anna-Mart Van Wyk.


The History and Public Policy Program welcomes reuse of Digital Archive materials for research and educational purposes. Some documents may be subject to copyright, which is retained by the rights holders in accordance with US and international copyright laws. When possible, rights holders have been contacted for permission to reproduce their materials.

To enquire about this document's rights status or request permission for commercial use, please contact the History and Public Policy Program at [email protected].

Original Uploaded Date





Record ID



Leon Levy Foundation