Skip to content

United States Non-Recognition Policy

 In 1940, the United States condemned the Soviet occupation of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania and refused to recognize the annexation of the three Baltic states. This non-recognition policy was announced by acting Secretary of State Sumner Welles in a statement July 23, 1940 and remained the official US position until 1990/1 when the Baltic states each individually declared their independence from the Soviet Union.