Skip to content

July 2, 1968

Statement for the Press on Signing the Treaty on Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons in Moscow

This document was made possible with support from Carnegie Corporation of New York (CCNY)


Per Point 75, Prot. No. 87[1]


Attachment No. 3




Statement for the Press

On signing the Treaty on Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons in Moscow


The XXII continuing session of the UN General Assembly on 12 Jun 1968 approved the Treaty on Non-Proliferation on Nuclear Weapons. It is envisioned that the depository governments for this treaty will be the Soviet Union, the United States of America and Great Britain.

In connection with this, on 1 July in Moscow, Washington and London, the depository governments signed this Treaty.

In the name of the Soviet Union, the Treaty was signed by ……, in the name of the U.S.A., ….., in the name of Great Britain……

The treaty was also signed by the following in the names of their governments:…..

Present for the signing of the Treaty were: Chairman of the USSR Council of Ministers Com. A.N. Kosygin, USSR Minister of Defense Com. A.A. Grechko, President of the USSR Academy of Sciences Com. M.V. Keldysh, Chairman of the USSR State Committee for Utilization of Atomic Energy Com. A.M. Petros’yants, Deputy Ministers of Foreign Affairs Com. V.V. Kuznetsov and S.P. Kozyrev, General Secretary of the USSR MFA Com. I.N. Zemskov, members of the USSR MFA Collegium Com. L.M. Zamyatin, G.M. Korniyenko, K.V. Novikov, B.M. Falin, USSR MFA department heads Com. F.F. Molochkov and O.N. Khlestov, USSR Representative to the Eighteen-Nation Disarmament Committee Com. A.A. Roshchin, responsible workers of the USSR MFA, as well as diplomatic colleagues of a number of embassies in Moscow, and Soviet and foreign journalists.





[1] Translator’s Note: The following information is extracted from Protocol No. 87 of the CPSU CC Politburo meeting, finalized on 2 July 1968 and covering numerous resolutions made during 21 June to 2 July 1968. A number of decisions were made during the meeting, including Point 75

Statement made for the press about the signing of the Treaty on Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons in Moscow. The statement includes a list of people present at the Moscow signing.

Document Information


RGANI, f. 3, op. 72, d. 182, ll. 31. Contributed by Anna Pan and translated by Theresa Billow-Supple.


The History and Public Policy Program welcomes reuse of Digital Archive materials for research and educational purposes. Some documents may be subject to copyright, which is retained by the rights holders in accordance with US and international copyright laws. When possible, rights holders have been contacted for permission to reproduce their materials.

To enquire about this document's rights status or request permission for commercial use, please contact the History and Public Policy Program at [email protected].

Original Uploaded Date



Record ID



Carnegie Corporation of New York (CCNY)